Skip to content
Main Content

 

Expert, Experienced Faculty

The faculty who teach in the program not only are experts in tax, but also are experienced teachers who know how to lead students through a challenging and rewarding curriculum. Included among the graduate tax faculty are full-time School of Law faculty, prominent practitioners in the Baltimore-Washington area, IRS officials, and judges with the U.S. Tax Court.

Full-Time Professors

Fred B. Brown, Associate Professor of Law and Director, Graduate Tax Program

Walter D. Schwidetzky, Professor of Law

John Snyder, Director, Low Income Tax Clinic

Adjunct Professors

  • Michael W. Bender

    RSM McGladrey, Inc.
    Mike.Bender@mcgladrey.com

    Phone: 410.246.9113

    Tax Research and Writing

  • Robin Denick

    Office of Chief Counsel, Internal Revenue Service
    Robin.W.Denick@IRSCOUNSEL.TREAS.GOV

    Phone: 410.962.3153

    Tax Exempt Organizations

  • Arturo Estrada

    Office of Chief Counsel, Internal Revenue Service
    taxpolicy@hotmail.com

    Phone: 202.622.3504

    Fundamentals of Federal Income Tax I
    Introduction to the Taxation of Financial Products
    Tax Policy
  • Honorable Maurice B. Foley

    Judge, U.S. Tax Court
    jfoley@ustaxcourt.gov

    Phone: 202.521.0681

    Tax Policy

    Prior to the appointment to the Court, Judge Foley was an attorney for the Legislation and Regulations Division of the Internal Revenue Service, Tax Counsel for the United States Senate Committee on Finance, and Deputy Tax Legislative Counsel in the U.S. Treasury's Office of Tax Policy. Appointed by President Clinton as Judge, United States Tax Court, on April 9, 1995, for a term ending April 8, 2010. Reappointed on November 25, 2011, for a term ending November 24, 2026

  • Steve Gevarter

    RSM McGladrey, Inc.
    sgevarter@verizon.net

    Advanced Real Estate Taxation

  • Elizabeth Green

    Pessin Katz Law, P.A. (PK Law)
    egreen@pklaw.com

    Phone: 410.769.6150

    Income Taxation of Estates and Trusts

  • Richard Heinecke

    IRS Chief Counsel's Office
    rnheinecke@verizon.net

    Phone: 202-317-5324

    Corporate Reorganization

  • Jeffrey Jacobson

    Weyrich, Cronin, Sorra
    jeffj@wcscpa.com

    Phone: 410.246.9113

    Fundamental of Federal Income Tax

  • Cheryl Jones

    Pessin Katz Law, P.A. (PK Law)
    cjones@pklaw.com

    Phone: 410.769.6141

    Income Taxation of Estates and Trusts

  • Sheldon Laskin

    Multi State Tax Commission
    shel030351@gmail.com

    Phone: 410.484.1176

    Current and Local State Tax Policy Issues: Advanced Seminar
    State and Local Taxation

  • Adam Meehan

    Smith & Downey, P.A..
    ameehan1225@gmail.com

    Phone: 410.246.9113

    Welfare Benefit Plans

  • Christopher Schoen

    Dewey and LeBoeuf L.L.P.
    Cschoen@deweyleboeuf.com

    Phone: 202.346.8791

    Consolidated Corporations
  • Daryl J. Sidle

    Baxter, Baker, Sidle and Conn, P.A.
    djs@BBSCLaw.com

    Phone 410.385.8077

    Estate and Gift Taxation

  • Larry Strauss

    Larry Strauss, ESQ, CPA and Associates
    Larry@LarryStraussESQCPA.com

    Phone: 410.484.2142

    Bankruptcy Taxation
  • Honorable Stephen Swift

    Judge, U.S. Tax Court

    Tax Practice and Procedure

  • Mildeen G. Worrell

    Vice Chair - ERISA Advisory Council, Department of Labor
    mgworrell@yahoo.com

    Phone: 301.654.7795

    Advanced Qualified Pension and Profit Sharing Plans

    Mildeen Worrell served as Tax and Benefits Counsel for the Committee on Ways and Means, and as Staff Director for the Subcommittee on Select Revenue Measures, for more than 18 years. She has more than two decades of public policy, legal and legislative experience.